Buckley Blog Bits – April 28, 2017

  • After dropping both games of a doubleheader in St. Louis yesterday, the Blue Jays are now 6-16. They’re 9 games out of first, and 6 games out of the wild card, and the first month of the season isn’t even over yet.  To be honest, I think that the loss yesterday afternoon in the first game of the doubleheader might’ve been the most heartbreaking loss of the season.  The Jays were an out away from their first two-game winning streak of the season, and from being guaranteed to take 2 out of 3 in St. Louis which also would’ve been their first series win of the season.  Instead, they lost in brutal fashion, conceding a game tying home run and then a walk-off grand slam.  Some fans will try to tell me that there’s no momentum in baseball, but I think there is.  It’s just a different type, and I think yesterday might’ve marked the very early nail in the coffin for the Jays season.  Hopefully I’m wrong, but I just don’t see them being able to rectify whatever their problem is this season.
  • I’m pretty happy to see the UFC sign the World Series of Fighting’s lightweight champion, Justin Gaethje. While he’s had a 3-year reign as WSOF lightweight champion and is 17-0, I honestly don’t expect him to fare very well in the UFC.  He hasn’t exactly dominated his competition in the WSOF, and he was losing to Luiz Firmino at WSOF 34 before being awarded a TKO win via doctor stoppage.  Just because I enjoy watching non-UFC MMA, I’d sort of like to see Gaethje get matched up against former Bellator champion Will Brooks at some point because I think it’d be pretty unique to see two fighters who were champions in high profile organizations outside of the UFC fight in the UFC.
  • I say it enough that it sounds cliché when I say it, but nothing will surprise me tomorrow in the Anthony Joshua/Wladimir Klitschko fight.  Having said that, if I was being forced to bet I would be tempted to put my money on Joshua.  Perhaps Klitschko has found a fountain of youth leading into the fight tomorrow night, but based on the way he looked against Bryant Jennings and Tyson Fury, coupled with the fact that he’s also 17 months older now than he was when he fought Fury, I think time has passed Klitschko by and I expect to see Joshua retain his IBF title and claim the vacant WBA title tomorrow.  Now with that in mind, I really don’t have a preference who wins tomorrow just as long as a Klitschko victory doesn’t mean we have to see a rematch with Kubrat Pulev, a guy who Klitschko ran over in 5 rounds back in 2014.  I’m not confident enough to predict how I think Joshua will win tomorrow, but I think he does win.  Maybe not in absolute dominant fashion, but in a way that leaves no doubt as to who the better fighter is right now.
Leave a Reply

