Buckley Blog Bits – April 26, 2017

  • As I’ve mentioned in past blog articles, I’ve greatly curtailed my social media usage over the past few months. About 10 days ago, I took the plunge and actually deleted my Twitter account after barely using it (at least compared to my previous standards) for the last 2-3 months.  The one big takeaway I’ve had from not having a Twitter account at all, which was my sole social media outlet, is how much I feel that it’s actually enhanced the quality of my social relationships.  No longer can I, or my friends, simply just tweet at one another or comment on someone’s tweet.  Now either I, or my friends, have to take the extra effort to actually text me or even call to talk, and to be honest I really enjoy that.  I also enjoy keeping my life a bit more private for the time being.  Maybe one day I’ll return to Twitter, because it is a great source to use for getting news in real-time, but for the time being I’m enjoying the lack of distractions that it can also bring.  Overall, I just feel like I’m more productive without devoting time to social media.
  • Seeing former boxing heavyweight champion Lennox Lewis give his analysis of the upcoming Anthony Joshua/Wladimir Klitschko fight really makes me wish we could have seen a prime Lewis versus a prime Klitschko because they are easily two of the best heavyweights of the last 15-20 years. In 2003 we got to see Lewis fight Wladimir’s older brother Vitali, a fight in which Vitali was winning after six rounds before the doctor at ringside stopped the fight due to damage to Vitali’s eye.  Unfortunately, Lewis retired right after that so we never did get to see a rematch, while Vitali went on to claim the vacant lineal championship before retiring in 2005, ultimately leading the way for Wladimir to rule the heavyweight division.
  • I read that lineal boxing heavyweight champion Tyson Fury wants to return to the ring in July, and that he’d like to fight WBC heavyweight champion Deontay Wilder. While I said in yesterday’s blog post that I’d like to see Fury fight the winner of Joshua/Klitschko, I’m okay with Fury fighting Wilder first.  Last year, a fight between Fury and Wilder would have crowned practically the closest thing we’ve had to a true unified and undisputed champion in years, as Fury had just won the WBA, IBF, and WBO versions of the heavyweight championship while Wilder holds the WBC title (Fury later vacated the IBF title for not fighting their mandated challenger, Vyacheslav Glazkov).  While Fury has since been forced to vacate his other championships, he’s still the lineal champion and I’d really like to see him face a recognized champion such as Wilder instead of the other rumored opponent in Manuel Charr because it would be a much more prestigious bout for the lineal title.
  • I suppose some of you have been waiting for me to comment on the Toronto Blue Jays slow start, so I’ll say this: I think the team is far better than their 6-14 record indicates, and if the offense hadn’t been so stagnant and underperforming for the first 3 weeks of the season, they’d be closer to 10-10 or better right now.  It’s not as if they’re getting blown out every night, which is evident by the 7 one-run losses they’ve had thus far.  If they can finish April on a high note (such as possibly winning multiple games in a row for once) and can get off to a hot start in May, I think they’ll be just fine.  I didn’t expect them to make the playoffs in 2017, but I did expect them to at least finish above .500, which I still think is feasible.
Leave a Reply

