Buckley Blog Bits – March 24, 2017

  • I’m interested in seeing Matt Hughes fight again, because I would like to see him have a proper sendoff. His career ended, unbeknownst at the time but highly speculated, after a loss to Josh Koscheck at UFC 135 in September 2011.  It wasn’t until early 2013 that he formally announced his retirement, but I would’ve liked to have seen him get the proper sendoff treatment and attention that fighters such as Tito Ortiz and Randy Couture have had.  Now, having said all of that, I don’t have much interest in seeing him rematch against Royce Gracie, a man he beat at UFC 60 back in May 2006.  The first fight was an absolute lopsided beating by Hughes, and I have no reason to believe that a rematch 11 years later wouldn’t have the same result, even if Hughes is an old man himself now.  I’d actually have more interest in seeing him fight Ken Shamrock at heavyweight, even if there would be a size discrepancy, but ideally I’d like see a more appropriate foe other than Gracie for Hughes if he does indeed come back for one final fight.
  • I have zero interest in seeing B.J. Penn fight again, and I can’t for the life of me figure out why the UFC keeps letting him fight. I get that he’s a big name, but the fact of the matter is that Penn hasn’t looked good in a fight since the first round of his fight with Nick Diaz at UFC 137 back in October 2011, a fight in which Penn was then thoroughly outclassed in rounds two and three and dropped a unanimous decision en route to immediately announcing his (first) retirement right after the fight was over.  Since then he’s been dominated by Rory MacDonald in December 2012, and then finished by Frankie Edgar in July 2014 and Yair Rodriguez two months ago.  I’ll unfortunately tune in and watch his fight with Dennis Siver in June because I’m a fight fan, but I’d really prefer to see him stop tarnishing his legacy as one of the best lightweights in the sport’s history.
  • Bellator’s Pay-Per-View at Madison Square Garden does interest me, even if the main event is between two rivals past their prime. This is one thing Bellator does that irritates me to an extent, because when you put a non-title fight above a title fight as the headliner, it can give off the impression that the title isn’t as important.  In this case, it looks like they’ll have two title fights on the undercard as a precursor to two non-title fights, and that disappoints me.  I understand building the marketing campaign around Chael Sonnen vs. Wanderlei Silva, but I’d rather see Michael Chandler vs. Brent Primus for the lightweight title headline the pay-per-view with Douglas Lima vs. Lorenz Larkin for the welterweight title serve as the co-main event.  Use the recognizable names such as Sonnen, Silva, and Fedor Emelianenko to bring attention to your event and help it give some of the spotlight to your promotion’s champions, such as Chandler and Lima.

Since there’s no major MMA events on this weekend, I’ll have my DVR set to record the Jorge Linares (41-3) versus Anthony Crolla (31-5-3) fight for boxing’s WBA lightweight title since I’ll be unable to watch it live.  Since Linares holds The Ring magazine’s version of the lightweight title as well, I consider him to be the true legitimate lightweight champion.  While I’m not as into boxing as I am into MMA, I do enjoy tuning in for the legitimate, lineal championship fights when they occur.

Leave a Reply

