Buckley Blog Bits – March 17, 2017

  • I attended Colin Doyle’s jersey retirement ceremony in Toronto last Saturday. I’m sure a lot of you who read this aren’t super familiar with Colin Doyle since lacrosse isn’t exactly a mainstream sport, but I really enjoyed the ceremony.  I grew up watching Colin Doyle lead the Toronto Rock to championship after championship during the dynasty days of the 2000s, so for me it was really cool getting to see a ceremony of this nature for an athlete that I was not only fortunate to see play, but also legitimately be a fan of during his prime.  I thought the ceremony was very well done, with Doyle and Rock owner Jamie Dawick giving credit to the previous ownership group.  While I would’ve liked to have seen Bob Watson, the former Toronto Rock goaltender that had his number retired back in 2012, be on the field for the ceremony as to welcome Doyle to the jersey number retirement club, I can respect his wishes not to be as to not take away from Doyle’s night.  Overall, it was a great night and it was capped off by a great victory for the Toronto Rock.
  • I’m attending tomorrow night’s World Series of Fighting event in New York. I’ve been to several MMA events over the years, but I’ve never had the chance to attend a WSOF event before, and with three title fights on the card you can be sure that I’m pretty excited for it.  While I think the WSOF is a distant third behind Bellator and the UFC, live MMA events are always a fun time, and there are some pretty solid fights on the card tomorrow.  Of note, I’m really eager for the Lance Palmer vs. Andre Harrison fight for the featherweight title, as well as the Blagoy Ivanov vs. Shawn Jordan for the heavyweight title.
  • I’m about to finish the book Smarter, Faster, Better by Charles Duhigg. I’ve really enjoyed this book more than I enjoyed his other book The Power of Habit.  I’ve just enjoyed reading his perspective and accounts of what motivates us, managing others, goal setting, and being innovative.  It’s a great read and if you have a chance I really suggest picking up a copy.
Leave a Reply

