Blog Bits – November 23, 2016

  • So, who else here was shocked by how the WWE booked the Goldberg/Lesnar match on Sunday night? I know I certainly was. Being there firsthand was great for me, because it let me be a 9 year old again for 86 seconds.  But the rest of the Air Canada Centre didn’t seem to know what to make of the match.  An overwhelming portion of the crowd was cheering for Goldberg, but the general consensus was that most people wanted the match to go the standard main event length of time of about 15-20 minutes.  For me personally, I dug the quick finish because I’ve said for a long time that I’d love to see a highly hyped main event match end quickly just to swerve everyone, and on Sunday night we saw that finally.
  • I scored Saturday night’s Andre Ward/Sergey Kovalev fight 116-111 for Kovalev. Part of me feels Kovalev was robbed, but it wasn’t the worst “robbery” I’ve seen in combat sports.  A lot of the rounds were close, but if you go by the old adage that the champion, in this case Kovalev, should get the close rounds then Kovalev “should” have won.  Perhaps had Ward won via split decision, then I wouldn’t have been so annoyed by the verdict.  I hope that Kovalev gets a chance at redemption, and soon.
  • With Ryan Bader entering free agency, I’d actually really like to see him go to Bellator and fight Phil Davis for their light heavyweight championship. Even though I have Bader pegged at around 6th in the world at light heavyweight right now, I really can’t see him winning the UFC light heavyweight title, so I think a move to Bellator might be in his best interest.
  • On another free agent note, I’m curious to see what happens to WSOF lightweight champion Justin Gaethje after his contract expires. He’s 16-0, but honestly I don’t think he’s that  He is a good fighter, and is the face of the WSOF, but I don’t have him in my top ten for the lightweight division and I don’t think he’s among the elite of the lightweight division.  Hopefully he gets a chance to go to the UFC or Bellator and hopefully he proves me wrong, but it will be interesting to see what’s next for him.
Leave a Reply

