Some Random MMA Thoughts – November 3, 2016

  • I read an article on MMA Fighting that speculated that featherweight champion Conor McGregor might try to fight for the welterweight championship in the event that he captures the lightweight championship from Eddie Alvarez next weekend at UFC 205. Personally, I think this is a bad idea, if there’s even any validity to the rumor.  Aside from the fact that it would mean a fourth consecutive fight for McGregor outside of the featherweight division (which would hopefully result in him vacating the featherweight title), I just don’t think he’d do well at 170 pounds.  Aside from the obvious strength and size disadvantages he’d have against the likes of Tyron Woodley and Stephen Thompson, I just think that his displays against Nate Diaz (who I wouldn’t even rank in my top five at lightweight) demonstrate that he’d be in over his head against the elite of the welterweight division.  It’s not like he exactly dominated Diaz in either fight, including his decision win over Diaz, and I think that the elite of the welterweight division would be too much for McGregor to overcome.
  • I’m happy to see that Michael Bisping will officially not be fighting at UFC 206 in Toronto next month. While it’d be cool to see another big name fight added to the card, I had no desire to see Bisping defend his title when he’s obviously nowhere near full strength right now after the punishment he took in his win over Dan Henderson last month.
  • I’m really eager for tomorrow night’s Bellator card. I think Phil Davis should emerge as the new Bellator light heavyweight champion because quite frankly I think he’s better than Liam McGeary.  Sure, McGeary is undefeated but he took home a controversial decision win over Emanuel Newton to get the title (I thought Newton won, but it was close enough I wouldn’t have exactly called it a robbery).  Furthermore, McGeary struggled with a past his prime Tito Ortiz last year before he was able to submit Ortiz late in the first round.  I just think Davis is a much better fighter than McGeary, and if the Davis that showed up to fight Newton and Francis Carmont in the fall of 2015 shows up to fight tomorrow night, then there’s no way that Davis loses.
  • In addition to the light heavyweight title fight, I’m pretty excited to see Sergei Kharitonov’s Bellator deubt tomorrow night. Unless you’re a diehard fan of non-UFC MMA, then you might not be familiar with him but he’s a veteran of Pride, Strikeforce, Dream, and M-1 and has notable wins over the likes of Andrei Arlovski, Alistair Overeem, Fabricio Werdum, and Pedro Rizzo on his resume.  While I’m disappointed he never made his way to the UFC, I’m eager to see what he brings to Bellator.
  • Former pro wrestler Kid Kash’s comments about CM Punk being paid $500,000 to fight at UFC 203, annoyed me to an extent. Sure, if we’re talking about true fighting talent, then Punk was not worth anywhere near $500,000.  However, if we’re talking promotional ability, then he might have actually been worth more than $500,000.  UFC 203 sold approximately 450,000 pay-per-views, and you have to assume that a good chunk of that was bought by viewers who were eager to see Punk’s foray into mixed martial arts.  It would take about 20,000 extra pay-per-view buys to offset CM Punk’s disclosed show money, and I can assure you that Punk’s inclusion on the card contributed to far more than just 20,000 extra buys.
  • Finally, I saw a quote where Tyron Woodley said that Georges St-Pierre should get an immediate title shot if he comes back to the UFC.  I’d have to say that I agree with him.  While I think that Demian Maia is the number one contender right now after the Woodley/Thompson fight next weekend, I think St-Pierre does deserve an immediate title shot if/when he comes back since he never officially lost the title in the cage (personally, I thought Hendricks beat him at UFC 167, however the judges felt otherwise).  Based on that, and the interest the fight would generate, I think St-Pierre getting an immediate title shot makes the most sense.  I really can’t believe it’s been nearly three years since St-Pierre last fought.  I never though the hiatus would last this long.
Leave a Reply

