Buckley Blog Bits – October 24, 2016

  • It’s been nearly a week since the Blue Jays were eliminated from the playoffs. While I have plenty to say about the 2016 season, I can’t help but feel both a sense in pride of how far the Blue Jays went into the playoffs this season, but at the same time a feeling of disappointment at how their season went overall.  Yes, going 89-73, winning the wild card, and going to the ALCS is great and there are 26 other teams that would envy that.  But I felt like the Jays really never hit their stride in 2016 to be honest.  I never felt like the offense truly played to its potential, and looking at how the rest of the American League fared in 2016, I can’t help but wonder how much more explosive the Jays could’ve been this year if the offense could’ve been more consistent during the season.  Overall though, it was a good year.
  • For the first time in a long time, I was able to watch Bellator live as it aired on Friday night. To be honest, I’d really like to see Bellator matchup Bobby Lashley against Cheick Kongo for their vacant heavyweight title.  If not that, then I’d be in favor of a Lashley vs. Matt Mitrione matchup with the winner of that fight possibly facing Kongo for the vacant title.  While Lashley has impressed me with his current 5-0 run in Bellator, I think it’s time that he faces a big name with UFC alumni status.
  • Perhaps it’s because I’m at the right age finally to truly appreciate an alumni game because it features a lot of players that I grew up watching, but I really enjoyed Saturday’s Winnipeg Jets/Edmonton Oilers alumni game. It was a lot of fun for me to watch players such as Teemu Selanne, Mark Messier, and of course Wayne Gretzky (amongst countless others I grew up watching as a kid) play one more time, and the game itself was a pretty entertaining affair in my opinion.  Maybe this is the year that hockey fandom comes back finally, after being in a sharp decline for several years for one reason or another.
  • I spent a good portion of the weekend finishing Nick Parkinson’s book A Champion’s Last Fight: The Struggle with Life After Boxing. As someone who loves sports, and who studies I/O psychology, I’ve really enjoyed the book, especially the parts where the retired boxers discuss feeling a lack of purpose once their fighting careers are over, and I wish there were more books that covered this topic from other sports because I’d really be interested in reading those as well.
Leave a Reply

