Knowing When To Quit Your Job

Being an I/O psychology, psychology articles about the workplace definitely intrigue me.  I was reading an article on Psychology Today earlier entitled “5 Signs It’s Time To Quit Your Job” (link: https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/cutting-edge-leadership/201609/5-signs-it-s-time-quit-your-job?collection=1094185).

I completely agree with the first two signs on the list, that being working in a toxic environment and being the target of workplace bullying, and I can speak from personal experience.  Simply put, a previous employer of mine was terrible.  My boss was very moody, and it seemed as if she would go out of her way to be mean and negative to employees.  After a few months working for the company, she offered me a better position with the organization which I would have loved to have taken because the increased salary and the better sense of job security would have been much appreciated.  But I turned it down because I couldn’t stand working for her any longer.  I couldn’t tolerate her personality any longer, and I didn’t feel comfortable at work on a daily basis.  I dreaded going to work (this was all unfortunate, because I did like the job itself, and there were times she could be really nice…but those days were very few and far between).  So, I decided to leave altogether.

Two of the other signs on the list, which were being stuck in a dead end position or having no chance to grow and further develop are also a pair of critical signs that it might be time to move on as well.  It’s frustrating to feel that you’ve plateaued, and that you’re no longer getting better at your job.  Imagine going to the gym, bench pressing 150 pounds, and then working your way up to 180 pounds, and then….being stuck at 180 pounds, regardless of how hard you were working.  It’d be pretty frustrating, right? The same goes for your professional career.  Plateaus are frustrating, and I’ve left an employer in the past because I felt like I had stopped growing professionally, and that I wasn’t going to be given the opportunity to further develop under their guidance.

So in my own personal experience, I can say that the signs on this list are all very valid reasons to seek employment elsewhere.  If you feel like you can’t get along with your co-workers or your boss (side note: conflict is bound to happen at times regardless of where you work, but it’s how it’s able to be managed that makes the difference), or you feel like you’ve hit a professional plateau and don’t see any end in sight, then it’s time to look for employment elsewhere.

Work is important, and that goes without saying, because of what it brings us in terms of financial support.  But we spend at least half of our waking lives at work, and do you really want to be miserable for half of your waking hours, and even feel a sense of dread during the waking hours you don’t spend at work because you hate your job? I think not.  It’s not worth the sense of frustration.

Leave a Reply

