Buckley Blog Bits – September 7, 2016

  • Blue Jays: It’s amazing how much an amazing end to the 2015 season really seemed to spoil Blue Jays fans. After years of being out of the playoff picture by this point in the season, the Jays are tied with the Red Sox for the AL East lead and have a two game lead on the wild card.  The race is incredibly tight right now, and it’s going to come down to the final weekend of the season (when the Blue Jays visit the Red Sox).  As a fan, it’s hard not to get frustrated with the tough close losses at this point in the season, especially when the teams that are chasing your favorite team right now are winning games and closing the gap.  But it’s important to remain sane during the postseason push.  After all, wouldn’t we all rather be in this position of being in the hunt for even just the wild card after years of having to “wait for next year?” I know one day I’ll look back on this 2016 season and say ‘that was a fun, exciting year,” but in the meantime I think I, like most Jays fans, are going to experience a wide array of emotions down the stretch.  Maybe had the Jays not won the AL East last season, and in such dominating fashion, could I appreciate this season more than I have thus far.
  • MMA: UFC 203 is on Saturday, and I’m really looking forward to the card. Of course, part of that is because I have tickets to the event but also it’s shaping up to be a pretty fun card to watch.  You have a heavyweight title fight which is always fun, and that’s in addition to the fact that you have four current or former world champions on the card (Miocic, Overeem, Werdum, and Faber), plus you have the long awaited MMA debut of CM Punk (which ironically is in the same building where he legitimately quit the WWE back in 2014).  Even the prelim bouts look good on paper, so this card has potential to be the best UFC event I’ve ever attended in person, and I’m really looking forward to it.
  • I/O Psychology: I was reading an article on Psychology Today entitled “5 Signs That It’s Time To Quit Your Job” (link: https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/cutting-edge-leadership/201609/5-signs-it-s-time-quit-your-job ), and reasons 4 and 5 really stood out to me (I’m not looking to leave my job, but I’m always open to new opportunities if they arise, plus I’m curious to see what other work psychologists say in regards to career satisfaction). I think a lot of people, employers included, don’t always understand the importance of growing/development and purpose in a job when it comes to career and job satisfaction.  Personally, as nerdy as it might sound, I just enjoy learning new things, so I appreciate the task variety and skill variety that my job brings.  In addition, people like to feel important, so if you feel like your job lacks a true purpose, you probably won’t feel a great deal of satisfaction.  Really, we spend so much of our waking hours at work (estimates show anywhere from 40% to 70%), that there’s no need to work at a job where you don’t feel a sense of importance and satisfaction.
Leave a Reply

