Buckley Blog Bits – September 5, 2016

  • It’s been a disappointing few days for the Blue Jays. I’ll be one of the first to tell you that shit happens over the course of a 162 game season, that bad teams can beat good teams on any given day, and so forth.  But that doesn’t change the fact that the Jays going 1-3 against the Rays and Yankees over the past four days hasn’t been a bit of a bummer.  Given their lack of success in Tampa over the past decade, taking 1 out of 3 wasn’t that bad (still a bummer, however), and I have faith in their ability to take one or both of their next two games in New York, but with the AL East race, and even the wild card race, getting a bit tight it would’ve been nice to have some more breathing room.  But at the end of the day, the magic number for the AL East right now is 25 and the magic number for a wild card spot is 24.
  • Saturday’s UFC event was a fun watch. I love UFC Fight Pass cards because the pace of the show is nice since there’s minimal time in between bouts, plus the cards have been rather solid as of late.  I wasn’t surprised to see Alexander Gustafsson maul (pun intended?) Jan Blachowicz, but I was impressed with the way Blachowicz held his own and provided a solid challenge for Gustafsson for the first round.  Of course, the next two rounds were a bit lopsided in Gustafsson’s favor, but I pictured that happening.  The main event was a fun bout to watch as well.  I’d watched the countdown show for the fight on Saturday morning, and it gave me an even better appreciation for the main event.  I was cheering for Josh Barnett, so I was happy to see him win, but part of me wanted the bout to go on for a while longer because I was having a great time watching the two legends go at it.
  • Labor Day weekend has provided me with a nice reminder about the importance of work/life balance. While I love my job, having a three day weekend was much needed for me for a variety of reasons.  One, I just don’t take days off from work for the most part, or at the very least I infrequently do.  Two, with the constant traveling and weekly mini road trips I’ve been going on for the last two months, I actually hadn’t slept in on consecutive days in nearly 8 weeks, so it was great to just sit back and rest up.  Furthermore, I just took a break for a few days.  I didn’t leave the house, I barely read anything (anyone who knows me knows that I read constantly in my free time…I probably read between 15-20 books per year), and I actually just sat around the house, watched some television (which I rarely do except when I’m watching the Jays play) and worked out quite a bit.  The point I’m trying to make here is that it’s important to take some time away from work, and even your regular daily/lifestyle routines, and just recharge your batteries.  The past 72 hours have been very beneficial to me, and I suggest anyone who’s feeling a sense of burnout take some time for themselves as soon as they can.
Leave a Reply

