Feeling Like You’re On Vacation at Home

There’s a certain sort of positive, euphoric feeling you get when you go on vacation, and I’d like to take a moment to discuss how you can have that sort of positive feeling when you’re spending time in your hometown.

  • Try new things. When you go on vacation, you’re constantly trying new things, and you never know what to expect in the process.  How can you really be disappointed when you have no expectations? It’s the same thing at home.  For example, one day I went to the local art gallery here and then followed that up by going to a coffee shop for lunch that I’d never been to before, and it was a great experience for me because it was new.  It had some sense of excitement (as exciting as going to a coffee shop can get, I suppose) because it was a new place for me to go to.  If your hometown has a museum or some nice nature trails, then play tourist and go check them out for once.  You don’t have to be on vacation to do vacation-type things.
  • Start the day with something you enjoy. This makes you more optimistic about the rest of the day.  Avoid being in a rush to get to work (I’m guilty of this sometimes), so do something you enjoy whether it’s reading, doing yoga, going for a walk.  Do something you enjoy and start the day off on a positive note.
  • Take your time with what you’re doing. I get caught up in meticulously trying to plan day out sometimes (I credit this to grad school, where I had to really monitor time management, especially when I was doing school and work simultaneously).  Your life isn’t a race, so you can do everything at your own pace, so take advantage of this.  Honestly, I think this is a HUGE key to feeling like you’re on vacation because I often do feel the need to rush through things, and often feel like I never truly had the chance to savor and enjoy what I was doing for fun.
  • Allow yourself to sleep in. Isn’t this an advantage of going on vacation, is being able to sleep in?
  • Jam pack your schedule. If sleeping in isn’t your thing, then why not try to do as much as possible in your free time? I did this a few weekends ago when I went and played golf one morning, and followed that up by going to a photo gallery on the way home, before going out to lunch/dinner, then doing some reading before going to the bar.  Needless to say, it was an awesome vacation-style day at home.
  • Plan out your free time. Of course, isn’t this what you do on vacation anyway? So if you’re going to be “stuck” at home one weekend, map out everything you wish to accomplish that weekend, whether it’s just chores around the house or finally doing your touristy type things in your hometown.

When it comes down to it, it’s all about your mindset.  Pretty much, your routine hometown can be someone else’s new vacation spot, and it can be yours as well with the proper mindset and action.

Leave a Reply

