Buckley Blog Bits – August 15, 2016

When I don’t have enough material to warrant writing a blog article about a single topic, I’m going to periodically post articles such as this one, where I post a few sentences or a paragraph devoted to a topic before posting another paragraph about another topic.  I’ll call these articles Buckley Blog Bits.

  • I was driving to Toronto for the Blue Jays game against the Astros this weekend when I saw a car with a license plate that read “COPING” on it. It made me start to think about how I don’t really care for the term “coping” when people discuss their battles with anxiety because I don’t perceive the word “coping” to be a positive term.  I’d rather hear someone say that they’re “managing” or that they’re “controlling” or that they’re “defeating” their anxieties rather than hear them say that they’re “coping” with it.  To me, that sounds like you’re living paycheck-to-paycheck with your problems, rather than investing in a long-term solution for your battle with anxiety.  To me, the term “coping” just sounds like your anxiety is more in control of you than you are in control of your anxiety.
  • It might sound weird, but it’s up to you to decide if you want to be happy or not. Even if you’re not living your ideal life right now, you can at least find a new, more positive way to interpret your current predicament.  It’s your responsibility to keep things in perspective, especially during times of adversity.
  • I’ve been reading Jason Grilli’s book, Just My Game, for the past week or so and while I’m not finished with it yet (I’m about two-thirds of the way through it), I thought I decided to share a few of my thoughts about the book. Grilli discusses in great detail how he was torn apart emotionally by his season ending knee injury in 2010…until he met a high school soccer player who was forced to have her leg amputated after being hit by a car, and that meeting that high school soccer player helped him remain positive about his own situation. My main takeaways thus far from the book are the importance of staying positive along your life’s journey, as well as keeping things in perspective.  Your life rarely ever goes according to plan but it’s how you overcome those unexpected roadblocks and moments of adversity that really define who you are and how successful you are.  In addition, keeping negative moments in the proper perspective is an important aspect of maintaining a positive attitude and living a more positive life.
  • The overall message that I’m trying to communicate here is to keep things in the proper perspective, take responsibility for how you react/respond to moments of adversity, and understand that positivity breeds success (success doesn’t necessarily breed positivity).
Leave a Reply

